Library Board


The Library Board of Trustees represents the public's interest in achieving good library service. An effective Board should be comprised of a cross section of the community and work in a spirit of friendship, enjoyment, and cooperative effort. A Library Trustee is a non-paid appointee of the Municipal Council for a three-year term as described by "The Library Code," Act of June 14, 1961 of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

The Library Board shall be the policy-forming body of the Murrysville Community Library and shall be responsible for the management of the library and the promotion of library interest.

The duties of the Library Board shall be to:

  • The Library Board selects and appoints the Library Director who is responsible for hiring Library personnel.  The Library Board establishes rules and regulations governing personnel employment.
  • Disburse and have exclusive control over all moneys appropriated for the establishment and/or maintenance of the library and all moneys, if any, received from other sources for the library use.
  • Present an annual report to Council as required by 53 P.S. ₴ 3501 et seq.5
  • Adopt reasonable rules and regulations governing the use and service of the library.
  • Exclude from the use of the library any person who willfully violates such rules.
  • Extend the privileges of the library to persons residing outside the limits of the Municipality upon such terms and conditions as the Library Board may prescribe.
  • Control the property and equipment of the library.


President: Celine Kandala (term expires 12/31/2025) 

Vice President: Theresa Wubben (term expires 12/31/2026)

Secretary: Joy Richardson (term expires 12/31/2025)

Treasurer: Susan Long (term expires 12/31/2026)

Jill Cooper (term expires 12/31/2024)

Paige Perry (term expires 12/31/2024)

Nicholas Subich (term expires 12/31/2026)

Council Liaison: Jason Lemak


The Library Board meets the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the library. All meetings are open to the public.


Board members are selected on an annual basis as openings are available. Please submit the application for review and follow up interview. Thank you.